English Translation and Commentary of the Holy Quran (2010)

by Maulana Muhammad Ali

Chapter 20: Ta Ha — Ta Ha (Revealed at Makkah: 8 sections, 135 verses)


The initial letters of this chapter serve as its title. Beginning by declaring that the Quran was revealed to be triumphant in the world, it deals at length with the story of Moses, showing how he was ultimately successful. It follows this by a description of the opposition to the Prophet Muhammad and the consequences of that opposition. This chapter was revealed in the early period at Makkah, about or before the fifth year of the Holy Prophet’s mission.

List of Sections (Rukus):

  1. Moses is Called (Verses 20:1–20:24)
  2. Moses and Aaron go to Pharaoh (Verses 20:25–20:54)
  3. Moses and the Enchanters (Verses 20:55–20:76)
  4. The Israelites Worship the Calf (Verses 20:77–20:89)
  5. The End of Calf-worship (Verses 20:90–20:104)
  6. The Prophet’s Opponents (Verses 20:105–20:115)
  7. The Devil’s Misleading (Verses 20:116–20:128)
  8. Punishment is Certain (Verses 20:129–20:135)